//
you're reading...
Policies About Mobile Devices That Are Helpful

Policies About Mobile Devices That Are Helpful

This is an article by the ASCD, on mobile devices transforming education.

This talks about how research and funding from the U.S. Depart of Education’s National Educational Technology Plan has helped bring about changes in the way mobile devices are used and encouraged in classrooms.  Devices used range from I-pads to Nintendo DS to cell phones.  Applications when paired with guided learning saw increased in average scores and higher classroom participation.  I would like to spark discussion by asking the class what are examples of policies dealing with mobile devices in the classroom which you have experienced.

http://www.ascd.org/publications/newsletters/education-update/feb11/vol53/num02/Can-Mobile-Devices-Transform-Education%C2%A2.aspx

 

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Policies About Mobile Devices That Are Helpful

  1. I am not a K-12 teacher, so my perspectives are from a parent of high school student.

    Just last week, my son (a junior in high school) had his phone out during some seat work. The teacher saw it and asked for him to give her the phone. He did. After class, he was able to get the phone back. However, he received Saturday school as a punishment for having the phone out. The school office called me and informed me of his infraction and the consequence.
    He works at a local fast-food restaurant and was scheduled to work Saturday during the same hours as Saturday school. So, he went to work instead. As a result of missing Saturday school, he received a day of in-school suspension to serve instead and a second day of in-school suspension for not showing up.
    As a parent, I spoke with my son and reminded him that the school rules applied to everyone and that he needs to follow them even if he disagreed with them. To myself, I really felt that the consequences were a bit out of hand.

    On the flip side, we know students consume information through their mobile devices at alarming rates. It seems as though teachers should not be so concerned with removing the phone from the classroom, but finding ways to leverage them.
    —-Molly Lance

    Like

    Posted by bluewellyfarm | September 25, 2014, 1:41 am
  2. In one of my classes, the Professor allowed ( or rather didn’t discourage) searching for questions on a smart phone, Since no one was taking advantage of this to Face time, it seemed to work well.This policy was never discussed or put in the syllabus.

    Like

    Posted by bhorner2 | September 25, 2014, 1:59 pm
  3. I am not currently teaching, but none of the environments where I have taught permitted or encouraged student cell phone/ mobile device use. During my last teaching assignment, the administration firmly pressured the teachers to confiscate phones if they were in sight. (The middle school students were allowed to have them on campus, but were not allowed to use them, or have them out during school hours…Talk about temptation!) This confiscation policy created conflict and animosity between teachers and students. As an employee, I was obligated to follow my administrator’s directives. As a teacher, I quite often wondered if there was a more productive, less hostile approach to the issue.
    After a student took an inappropriate picture of a special needs student in the bathroom, and the school system was dealing with the threat of a lawsuit, the crackdown on cell phone use became even more harsh. There are obviously risks associated with the presence of student cell phones, but cell phones are not going away. I hope that my next teaching assignment is progressive, and encourages the safe and productive student use of mobile devices.

    Like

    Posted by laurabeby | September 25, 2014, 7:31 pm
  4. Thank you for sharing your story Molly. I think that it is crazy what happened to your son, but, I also think that it is important that students know that there is a time and place for everything. I am sure that he already knew that he was not supposed to have his cell phone out because if he didn’t know, all of those consequences would not have happened to him because it would have been unfair. Or at least I hope…I also agree with what Laura said about the policies creating animosity between students and professors but I think the mark of a good professor is one that shows/communicates to students that they can use the mobile devices when the teacher says that it is ok and part of the in school learning processes and not just when they are checking their Facebook inbox or something.

    Like

    Posted by kshepherd2014 | September 27, 2014, 8:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

